Running should feel natural

Running should feel natural

Friday, June 21, 2013

Running versus Biking

How can I incorporate cycling into my Summer Ultra-Training?

Its actually tough to find advice on this online.  Most plans either have you doing all running or all cycling depending on your goal race.  Not to mention, any "beginner cycling" programs just assume you are not fit or very athletic yet.  I plan to get in at least a couple mid-distance runs per week and always a long run on Saturdays.  Sundays I will do a big trail run every third week.  This should get me in good Ultra shape, round me out so I can do the Reston Century Bike Ride in August, and springboard me into more focused Ultra Training for the JFK 50 miler in Fall.

  So I'm hoping my summer "cycle" will look something like this:

Day of Week
Workout
Mon Medium Run (7-8 miles) OR Spin Class, and weights
Tues 20-24 Mile Bike Ride, moderate effort
Wed 22-26 Mile Bike Ride, hard effort and hills
Thurs Medium Run (6-9 miles)
Fri Rest Day or Easy Bike Ride (14-16 miles)
Sat Long Run Day (13-20 miles) on road, if more desired do on trails   - OR -
Long bike ride (~40-80 miles)
Sun 3 options:
  • Medium bike ride (~25-40 miles) and short run (~5 miles)
  • Long bike ride (~65-110 miles)
  • Long trail run (~4-5 hours)


That being said, ever since the ultra I have felt banged up, achy, and sore all over my legs and want to wait until they feel 100% (not 75%, or even 95% like usual) to start back up running.  So for the past few weeks (and more likely the next few weeks) I've been doing only biking (with a weekly spinning class and weight lifting session).

Me impersonating one of those coooool
D.C. bike dudes - getting my bike out of my
company's bike parking lot.

What am I good for?


Mentally I am more of a runner.  Running is tough, and there are no excuses, its just getting out there and putting in the miles and hard work.  Cyclists (and don't even get me started on triathletes) have to deal with equipment and maintenance of that gear.  All the matching outfits, branded jerseys, and high-end bikes only feed their (sometimes enormous) egos.  I love that running just feels pure, just you and the road (or trail), with only your own body either holding you back or propelling you forward.

Physically I think I am actually better suited as a cyclist.  The optimal body type for both sports is to be much shorter and smaller than I am, typically the best marathoners and cyclists are something like 5'7" and less than 140 lbs. However, being on a bike it doesn't hurt you nearly as bad to weigh more, and the added height at least gives you some mechanical advantage as far as torque and power transfer goes.  While you are on the bike its all about your power-to-weight ratio.

You also can be better suited for a role if you are on a cycling team - that role usually being to block the wind for your teammates to draft off you in the early stages of a race.  I'll also never be super skinny which taller runners need to be, and find it easier to pack up extra muscle when needed.  We have all seen the huge quads and calf muscles on cyclists.

Now THIS is a commute I can get used to!  Even better than I got to pass
over a completely gridlocked 495 while riding comfortably on by.
I have also been enjoying biking to and from work lately.  While I have attempted to run to and from work in the past, its tough (at 10 miles each way), and takes a lot of logistics to pull it off since you can really only carry a key and an ID while you run.

Thursday I was fortunate enough to make it out to my local Fun Run.  I felt super fit in the lungs and had plenty of energy to run fast, though my hips still held me back a bit.  Things felt kind of sore the next morning as well, but better within 24 hours.  This is encouraging but also reinforces that I should take it easy with the running, no consecutive days, and spend a few weeks to realistically build back up to longer distances.  The cycling should keep my cardio in check in the mean time.

Next week I'm going out to Colorado for vacation.  This will provide a much needed break from work and an overall change of scenery.  I won't be getting any cycling in but I am hoping to run plenty of soft, packed dirt trails.  I've already checked out a Denver Trail Running group, local trail race, and a rave run in Telluride. Oh, and a conveniently timed Beer Festival, but that's not related to running or biking... is it?

Monday, June 17, 2013

Diving Helmet-First into Cycling

Apparently I'm a cyclist now

That is, in addition to being a runner first and foremost.

I just got my new bike a little over 3 weeks ago, and in the last 2 weeks I have really been getting out on it.  Here is what my workouts have looked like for the last week:
  • Monday: 55 minute spin class (call that ~16 miles @ average speed of 18 MPH)
  • Tuesday: 20 mile group ride
  • Wednesday: 25 mile hill ride
  • Thursday: (Rest)
  • Friday:14 miles easy (to and from work)
  • Saturday: my first Metric Century! ~100km (62.1 miles)
  • Sunday: 58 mile easy ride
195 Miles in a week.  That feels solid for starters.  

I've been trying to figure out a formula to translate cycling into running fitness.  Long story short, there isn't one, but there are some theories on it.  One place I read said that the time you spend cycling is equivalent to about 2/3 of that time running.  For instance, if you bike for 3 hours (say, roughly 55 miles) you could think of that as a 2 hour run (probably around 15 miles).  Another idea is to look at the mileage at a 1/3 rate.  So, if you bike 60 miles you could equate that to a 20 mile run.  Or, lets look at last week, 195 miles, thats about 64 miles of running by this count (which is a reasonable sounding estimate).

Yet another theory is that as long as you can maintain a comparable heart rate while cycling the fitness is almost equivalent.  My resting heart rate is about 52 BPM (beats per minute), and I estimate my max at 195.   When I am on an LSD (long steady distance) run, my heart rate is usually in the 150-160 range.  On an easy bike ride ill stay below that, but in tough, strenuous sections I can average about 160 BPM.

I think the most accurate predictor is the 2/3 time rule.  If it isn't apparent yet, I also now understand why heart rate is much more important to monitor while cycling than running.  One thing is for sure, you can push your legs and cardio to the limit and not pay the same price as in running that - price being getting really banged up, sore, and risking injury.

Cycling also feels like a great tool for Ultra-Training, besides the low risk of injury, its all about just having to keep moving for many hours on end.  Eating and drinking are more important when riding (similar to in ultra-running) then during short road races or even marathons.

Just Ride


Number one rule on how to be a better cyclist: Just get out there and ride a lot.  There are other great ideas, like ride with group, pick a race to train for, and doing focused workouts, but the biggest thing is just ride.  Ride often.  Ride a lot.

Metric Century

Saturday morning I went out with the DC tri club's weekly ride based off a friend's recommendation.  We met in Georgetown at rolled out promptly at 7:30am.


Georgetown in Washington D.C., looking North from the intersection of
Wisconsin and M street.  This looks kind of boring since its empty at
7:20am on a Saturday, an extreme contrast to the typical mid-week gridlock.

We rode up to Potomac, Maryland where everyone started solidifying their options.  I ended up on a 45ish mile ride with 4 or 5 other guys, the "Senaca 'T' route" (see upper half of route below).  It was a blast!  Fast, and very hilly.  We averaged over 19 MPH during that portion.  Rather than spending well over 200 bucks on a GPS bike computer, I found a bracket from Garmin to fit my current running GPS device on my handlebars and voila!  I have bike GPS with elapsed time, heart-rate, distance, speed (in MPH), and more.




Taking a quick break at the small
Francis Scott Key Park in
Georgetown.  There is a water
fountain near by!
 I had only planned on getting in 45-50, but after arriving back in D.C. I was looking at about 50 miles so far for the day and decided I would take the long way home to get in 60.  I ended up with 62 miles, enough for my first Metric Century!  The ride time is super handy while I'm taking a break from running since I would normally be running with my Saturday Long Run group.  The only downside is that I won't be able to go when I do start back up with the running.  There are plenty of great Sunday morning rides though to keep me busy even when I am back to logging plenty of miles on foot.

And more for good measure


If the metric century wasn't enough I headed out to the country to get a ride in with my Dad for Father's Day.    The ride was more relaxed and not nearly as hilly as my ride with the flashy DC Tri club the previous day.  I was really able to appreciate the wide open roads and minimal stops to make along the way, not to mention the scenery.  Taking it easy was a must after the previous day's ride.  I was tired and a little sore, and needed to play it safe.  Luckily I had enough energy to hammer out the last 8 miles and get to enjoy a rest day today.

58 Miles, a solid ride but not as intense as Saturday.
This is the kind of scenery I've been missing!

So whats next?  I'm actually hoping to get back to running this week, targeting a Thursday Fun Run as of now, and keep up with my cycling groups during the rest of the week.  No idea what kind of shape my running is in, but man do I feel fit!





Monday, June 3, 2013

Northface 50 Miler Race Report (Washington D.C.)

Race Summary


Race: Northface Gore-tex 50 Miler
Date: June 1st, 2013
Location: Algonkian Regional Park, Sterling, VA
Finish Time: 10:06:20

Well, I did it, I finally ran a 50 miler.  It wasn't a great training season for me and it wasn't pretty but in the end I couldn't have been happier.  It was 10 hot and sunny hours in Virginia humidity.  This was not your typical trail race.  Since Northface was in charge there was plenty of glitz and glam (and advertising), and a huge finish with hundreds of people (not typical of an Ultra) fueled by a trail marathon, 50k, and marathon relay in addition to the 50 miler.

Weeks Leading Up

This season hasn't been bad by any means, but hasn't been perfect either.  Okay, looking back its actually been pretty awesome.  The good? I got to run Boston and an Ultra in the same season. The bad? Had to sit out a race, general soreness and aches along the way, and just not the intensity or mileage I wanted.  I was able to get back into running full force in December after a long recovery and base building due to my injury incurred at Chicago.  Nothing felt 100% at any point though and I always had to proceed with caution.  I cut out most speed work but got my long runs to the point where I knew I would be okay to run Boston.

I probably didn't take enough time off Boston, but I felt great and after having only run it at an easy pace didn't feel guilty.  Then the aches and pains starting showing up all over my legs.  In early May I prescribed myself a week of complete rest followed by another week of only crosstraining.  This meant having to skip my previously scheduled 50k, a slow, muddy romp up and down the mountains in West VA (which I heard was a blast).  It wasn't the end of the world.  If it was a focus race I would have just done it and dealt with the consequences after, but since it was just kind of a placeholder training run I was smart to sit out.

The last month before Northface had me only doing about 25 miles per week on average, made up by a long run on Saturdays, a couple of shorter mid-week runs, and plenty of time on my new bike.  This culminated in an incredibly long Saturday of running, biking, walking, and trail running to get me ready for Northface.  Sprinkle in some smart recovery, gym time, and a sports massage and everything came into place just enough to run 50 hot, humid miles last weekend.


Shortly after leaving for the race at 3:50 am.

Final Prep and Pre-Race Routine

I'm not a superstitious person at all.  Just putting it out there.  I am however someone who will stick to a routine religiously if I determine it to be effective.  As a part of that routine, the 2 days leading up to a Marathon or Ultra-Marathon (especially one where its hot out) involves not only 2 days of carbo loading but also salt loading and water loading.  Basically, a lot of pasta and rice and as much salty foods as I can get a hold of.  My secret weapon is Mr. & Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix (or V8 hot & spicy if I'm in a pinch).  Its the most sodium per serving of any drink I have found and its actually really healthy too, packed with vitamin rich vegetable juice.  Most people think its gross, but I have talked to plenty of runners who drink it before and after races.  Guess its not really a secret.  They do always seem to have it available on airplane drink service which is nice.

Why all the salt and fluids? Its important to start off a race with a lot of salt in your system not only for the electrolytes and to prevent sweating it all out, but also since salt makes your body retain water.  While most people don't want to carry around "water weight" I want to stay as hydrated as possible during a race.  Those last 2 days also saw me drinking minimal coffee and no alcohol.  I also start going to bed a little earlier so that I can get a solid nights sleep (at least 9 hours) the day before the day before the race, and then have a relaxing Friday where I fall asleep around 10:45pm.

Most people are so nervous they can't really sleep.  I think in this case my advantage was a bad attitude.  I didn't really care, I didn't think I would do well, maybe not even finish or DNF due to injury.  Low expectations yields low pre-race jitters.  This is a mental tactic I will try to employ in the future.

That morning I woke up exactly at 3:05am, made my single cup of coffee from the same coffee grounds I use before every run, ate the same bagel with peanut-butter, and drank a bottle of water and half a bottle of Gatorade in the car.  I had all my clothes out, my ultra running vest pre-packed, as well as another bag to take with me of extra gear.  I put body glide in all the right places and applied sun-screen (wise in any multi-hour race during daylight).   I left at exactly 3:50am as planned.  It took me a predicted 40 minutes to drive to the start of the race.  This left me with 30 minutes to complete my routine involving another snack, bathroom visit, pre-race Gu and salt tablet and a few last minutes of almost meditation like waiting until the gun went off at 5:00am.


The Northface Gore-tex 50 Mile Challenge course map.  Use this for reference in the other sections.

The Race Start: Miles 0 - 15

The start.  Its best not to think about what lies ahead of you, as in, longer than a working day's time of running.  Just focus on the here and now.  What was I thinking? "hmmm, time to get moving", "glad its not too dark out" (though I still had a head-lamp just to be safe), "still pretty cool out", "hope my legs hold up" - oh, and the golden rule that any good ultra runner abides by - "Start slow and then slow down".

Just a few minutes before the race start at 5:00am and still
dark out.  I felt wide awake, rested, and ready to get into
a steady running shuffle.
I was astonished to be getting passed by runners after only a few miles in.  I had no idea what they were hoping to gain as we were only 30 minutes into a 50 mile trail run.  You have to tell yourself "let them go, I'll get back to them later".  These aren't the runners wearing all white, dorky hats, and with funny looking camelbaks on.  These were the guys in packs racing each other, not wearing shirts so they can show off their tattoos, and not carrying fluids.  All I could think was "have fun - ill see you in 30 miles".

This section of the trail was beautiful, passing forest ponds misting as the sun arose.  As we continued through the forest we came within view of the Potomac River, passing through floodplains of waist high grass.  I wore my Zensah calf sleeves which came in handy when we were practically wading through overgrown grass and weeds.  Passing the first aid station I still had plenty of water in my pack but I still grabbed a drink and a small snack.  Since I am fortunate enough to live in this area I had the advantage of running these trails already ensuring nothing was a surprise.  A few sections of steep hills slowed the already pathetic running pace to a speed walk, a strategy any smart ultra runner abides by.

By about 10 miles in there was a spread out but noticeable pack of runners.  About a dozen of us, constantly trading places as well as brief conversation, keeping each other in check.  Everyone was very relaxed and friendly.  I spotted a few of the many runners wearing the Hoka One One shoes that I had seen at the start and felt obligated to comment on their funny shoes (which looked like my funny shoes).

We were now closing in on Great Falls Park, marked by the 3rd red dot on the map above at Mile Marker 14.9.  This was the start of the Great Falls loops.  Its easy to dread this, but better to go in with a positive outlook since this is really the meat of the race.  Being familiar with the park I was even able to opt for a "real" bathroom instead of a port-a-john.  I blasted through the first aid station since I knew another one was coming up before the loops began.

3 Loops through Great Falls:  Miles 15-22, 22-29, and 29-36

The loops were tough, no doubt about it but made for great mental barriers to get past.  The first leg was over with, now we have 3 loops of the same thing before we head back the way we came.  Sounds easy right?!  Without going into too much detail ill describe a single loop briefly.  Go up a jeep path which becomes too steep to run eventually.  Down a trail, turn around, come back up the trail, back down part of the jeep path, down another trail, turn around, come back, and down a much steeper section, make a few more turns and run through a tree-less and sun-filled field.  Then carefully traverse the rocky terrain Great Falls is famous for, ensuring you don't fall 100's of feet into the Potomac River.  Come out of this to the main aid station to refuel on Gu, snacks, water and ice.  There is another smaller aid station half-way through the loop.

Navigating some rocky terrain in Great Falls.  Over to the
right (out of the picture) is the cliff drop off to the Potomac
River iconic of Great Falls Park.  Best to walk here and keep
your balance rather than skin a knee (or worse).
Repeat.  Then Repeat again.  These were mostly uneventful however I distinctly noticed a lot of runners starting to slow down significantly on the 3rd loop.  By the 35 mile mark I was passing many of the folks who went out too fast pre-dawn.  It was also getting very, very hot out now as we approached noon, with temperatures approaching 90 degree.  In these conditions you should constantly drinking water or an electrolyte drink.  I am for a few gulps every 10 minutes.  My pack's bladder still held enough water (1.5 liters) that I would still have a little left before aid stations.

My typical approach to an aid station is as follows:  Slow down and gather yourself, grab a quick drink, now I open up my pack and refill the bladder about 3/4 with water, the other 1/4 would be filled with ice.  Then toss a couple nuun tablets in there.  Grab a snack or 2 and stuff them in the front pockets of my ultra vest.  Grab another drink and a salty snack and eat/drink as I walk out.  Taking gels and salt tabs were essential too, but since they are easy to carry I saved those for walking sections on the trail.

Speaking of, I brought along a full cylinder of nuun tablets, and another cylinder filled with S!Caps salt tablets.  I thought this would be double what I would need - ending up using all of them.  This is a good example of the attention to detail used in preparation for this kind of event.  The nuun cylinders are great since they are waterproof and have a pop-off top (screw tops are bad if you are sweaty).  After pre-packing them I also stuff some paper in the end. Why? Once you are half finished with the nuun or S!Caps things start rattling which annoys the crap out of me.  Nothing a little crumbled up paper won't stop.


Really glad I had my dorky plain white hat.
As you can see here, it shades my whole face
(and head) from the strong sun.

Heading Back: Miles 36-50

Finishing the last loop and heading back through Great Falls Park I felt surprisingly solid.  Hot yes, but drinking plenty of fluids and no major soreness to speak of.  As the trail winded through the forest I was able to keep a steady pace up passing even more runners, now to include trail marathon and 50k participants.  I traded place with a couple other 50 mile runners who made for great pacing partners.  There is an infamous gap of about 8 miles between aid stations though, and this proved to be too much.


One of the bigger aid station areas in Great Falls.  This was the start (and end) of the loops through Great Falls, so I
passed through here a total of 4 times (1 at the start of each loop, and then as I left my final loop).  Aid stations are where you employ a lot of your tactics concerning fluids and food.  Patience is also required - while refilling takes time, those who speed through and don't get enough will pay for it later.  It was well stocked with water, Gu brew electrolyte drink, soda, cliff bars, salty snacks, energy gels, shot blocks, candy, bananas, oranges and more!  They had ice too but unfortunately that ran out by the 3rd loop.

About 5 miles removed from the Great Falls aid station I was getting low on water and, along with all the other runners I encountered, started wondering how long until aid.  It always looked like it was just around the corner, but we had to endure almost 3 miles of sun and heat with no water.  I was dry on fluids, everyone else was too.  At least misery loves company right?  I wanted to run the whole time but with about a mile to go to the aid station I gave in to a walk/run strategy.

Once I finally made it to Aid Station #10 ("Frasier") I was borderline dehydrated.  I felt dizzy and nauseous; it was difficult just to regain my composure.  No way I was rushing through this station.  I drank a bunch of water, swallowed 3 salt tablets, and ate some orange slices.  Kneeling down to refill my pack was easy but getting up was substantially harder.  I was worried they had run out of ice but was able to find enough to toss in my pack.  Ice was more important than I had ever realized, its incredibly effective to be drinking cold fluids as a way to lower your core body temperature.  I was tempted to sit or lay down, which a lot of runners were doing, but I knew this would be a huge mistake as you never want to get back up and risk cramping up while down.

Now fueled up and composed again, I walked out with another cup of water, pretzels, and orange slices to eat along the way.  I heard it was 4 miles to the next aid station so I promised myself I would walk for at least 30 minutes to make sure I was out of harm's way.  After that it was a run/walk strategy the rest of the way.  I was no longer dehydrated but my whole body was just getting so sore and tired I couldn't run continuously.  I would tell myself "okay, lets speed walk for 15 minutes, then spot something far in the distance to run to, then approach a hill to walk up and down, try to run again."  I found speed walking to be important as well - not just to walk, but to walk at a brisk pace to waste less time then if you were merely stumbling forward.

After making it to the Sugarland aid station, I was disapointed to find out we needed to again do a short out and back section with the finish only a few miles away.  This was more walking and running with a final refueling stop on the way back.  We were now on a flat, crushed gravel road heading back toward the start at Algonkian Park.  I promised myself I would run the last mile and with the finish almost in site I starting running again at a brisk pace.  All the pain (mental and physical) becomes easier to block out once you know you are in the final mile of a 50 mile run.

The Finish and After-Thoughts

Heading down the stretch I was in my weird end of Marathon zombie mode.  I pictured myself looking pale, clammy, and expressionless.  I just want to have a speedy finish at that moment and cut a few last seconds off my total time.  Busting through the finish line I was first overcome with joy and then took a few minutes to wonder around, converse with a few other finishers, and finally find a spot to sit down, stretch a little, drink water and eat a banana.

So what did I end up eating and drinking along the way in terms of quantity?  I believe (and this is all from memory) I ate 3 Cliff Bars, 2 little bags of pretzels, 6 energy Gels (1 regular Gu, 2 Gu "roctane"s, 1 Hammer gel, and 2 or 3 Cliff Gels), 2 shot blocks, a bunch of orange slices, like 16 salt tablets, and I refueled my pack bladder 6 times adding in my own nuun tablets - so at 1.5 liters per fill that's 9 liters of water!

I felt really good about this race, and even better about taking a planned 2-4 weeks off of running entirely afterward.  I plan on doing as much cycling as I can handle in the meantime to maintain fitness.  I am also making a new summer goal to do a Century (100 mile) bike ride this summer.  Not to sound overconfident but I'm not too worried about this - its like doing a Marathon after you've already done a few.  You know you can do it, you just want to make sure you knock it out and maybe actually enjoy yourself.

My Hoka One One Stinson Evo Trail shoes worked wonderfully.  While I'm a born skeptic and still not sure 100% about wearing Hokas on the roads, the trail shoes rock!  My feet felt surprisingly fresh and with minimal blistering after the race.  The shape and design of the shoe even encourages a runner's "shuffle" to keep you moving at a slow and steady pace while expending the least possible energy.

The rest of my outfit was all about functionality.  A baggy white shirt and shorts that I had worn enough times to know they wouldn't chafe me anywhere.  My dorky white hat to keep the sun off my head and face and reflect (rather than absorb) sunlight.  I have also made it a habit to get a haircut (a little on the short side) the day before a big race.  I sometimes refer to this jokingly as my "military cut", since whenever I have my hair this short people in the mid-west or small town USA assume I'm in the military. Is it really that rare to be thin, tall, and have short hair in these areas?  I'll take it as a compliment.

Finally Done! Posing with a couple of friend from my
local running club.  Love all that product placement!
As far as how to train for something like this goes, I have learned that while training plans and focused workouts (often recorded meticulously in spreadsheets) are helpful, what it really amounts to is basically running a lot for several years with no major breaks.  Just run a lot, run a bunch of marathons, run some 5ks, run a 50k or two, stay healthy, and eat and drink well for like 4 years - and then run for 50 miles on hiking trails.  This is what it takes.  Sounds easier than it is though.

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I got a bike!! Will this be the summer of cycling?

Rolling across Memorial Bridge in D.C.

New Bike

I have long thought about biking as an alternative to running to stay fit.  The injuries I have had in the past combined with all the aches and soreness I have been experiencing since Boston made it even more evident that I will need a break from running.  I decided to hang on, running here and there and cross-training until Northface and then after that take a break in June.  Not to say a complete break from running, but at least 2 weeks of no running (not one mile), and then another 2-3 weeks of low mileage (like 20-25 Miles Per Week).

Enter: My New Bike.

Specs (all of which are basically just what I had in mind):
    Name: Klein Quantum
    Year: 2002
    Components: Mostly Shimano 105, some upgrades
    Frame material: Aluminum, with Carbon fork
    Color: Its that "Chameleon" color that shifts between green and purple
         depending on how you look at it.
    Its cool! and kind of "retro".


Whats a Klein?

 If you haven't heard of Klein Bikes (I hadn't either until recently) they are known for being rock-solid and having incredibly high standards.  The brand was started by a dude named Gary Klein, an MIT graduate who pioneered the use of Aluminum for building bike frames and had a proprietary welding method for the joints.  Prior to the 70s Aluminum was thought to be too weak and insufficiently stiff to build a bike out of.  Trek bought the Klein name in 1995 but continued making bikes under the brand until the late 2000's.


I was thinking about buying a new bike, but cycling being the expensive, equipment-based sport that it is soon soured me at the multi-thousand dollar price tags.  I started scouring the internet (okay, basically just Craigslist) and found exactly what I was looking for.  In typical Craigslist fashion I jumped on it, headed over to the ATM to withdrawl a large sum of cash, and headed out to the burbs to check it out.  After a quick test ride and inspection it was sold.  Fortunately it already had Shimano clip-in pedals on it which match my cleats that I use for spinning.

After only taking it on a few rides, and to my surprise and exhilaration, I realized this is really, really fun.

Heading toward the Lincoln Memorial.  Many of the roads in D.C. were
closed off in prep for the huge "Rolling Thunder" motorcycle ride/rally.

This and That

Saturday I went to my weekly Saturday Long Run group.  It was an enjoyable romp around the National Mall and Tidal Basin, passing many of D.C.'s iconic landmarks symbolic of Memorial Day.  Got in a little over 12 miles; this was probably the first run in a month where I felt almost normal (say about 85%) and my legs had some "pep" in them.  Maybe too much pep - as I pushed the pace to a comfortably fast at 7:15ish miles my left Achilles started to fatigue.  After a few days rest and easy activity it feels back to normal.

Sunday I again rolled out of bed before 7:00am (this time much more tired than Saturday) to meet a few friends to go riding - er, cycling - , er, whatever roadies call it!  We got in almost 35 hilly miles in about 2 hours and 20 minutes.  Considering at least 1/3 of this was spent dodging pedestrian traffic and meandering through D.C. this was a great pace.  I'm really excited to keep riding with experienced cyclists and test out some long-range country roads to see how I stack up.  If that wasn't enough I went out for another relaxing 90 minutes of biking Monday night.

Speaking of my new addiction to cycling, I think I am going to add a new summer goal:  The Reston Century bike ride, August 25th.  I haven't decided between the metric century (~66 miles) or full (over 100 miles) but I'm leaning toward the latter.

This all has me in a pretty positive mood with Northface coming up.  Feeling about 85% now could easily put me on track to be almost perfect come Saturday.  I don't expect a great finish time but I'll gladly take an "okay" finish time sans injury.  The weather is predicted to start out in the 70s and reach 90 that day, all the better reason to keep expectations low.

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Mega-Training Day: Now Featuring Recovery!


Last week has been kind of up-and-down.  After some rest I got back out even while still feeling a bit achy.  These have been the first warm and semi-humid days of the season too, so its hard to tell if I was feeling so out of shape from the rest and general lack of energy I have been experiencing, or if it has to do with adjusting to the spring weather.  I'm hoping its the latter.

Biking Running Routes

These weird aches, sore hips, and general fatigue have caused me to take to the streets on my bike.  Even though I was dreading this at first its actually pretty fun.  Not as good a workout as running but much easier on the body.  Its almost like magic: the pains I have all over my legs while running seem to vanish once I get on the bike.

I've heard a rule of thumb is that the time you spend on a good, tough bike ride equates to about 2/3 that time in running.  So, if  you spend 90 minutes pedaling your heart out, think of that workout like a 1 hour run.  This won't train you for a marathon, but it keeps you in shape so you can train for one later.

Its fun to test ride potential running routes too on the bike since covering 20 miles on wheels isn't a big deal, even if its not easy on my tank of a mountain bike.

Saturday Mega-Day

Northface is in less than 2 weeks, and I have been forced to be inconsistent with my training, so Saturday I decided to make it a long, arduous  make-it or break-it workout.  The goal was 6-7 hours of almost continuous activity, to simulate the demands of running an ultra.  My body would  not be able to hold up to that much running and I would probably be too damaged to race in a couple weeks, so I made it a combo bike, run and walk day.  It wen't down something like this, staring at about 7:30am:

  • 20 minute bike ride, about 6 miles
  • 2 hour 20 minute road run, about 16 miles
  • 1 hour 40 minute bike ride, about 21 miles
  • 25 minute walk, about 2 miles
  • 2 hour trail run (with plenty of walk breaks), about 9 miles
Total Time on my feet: over 7 hours, with only short breaks between each activity.  This tells me I have the endurance and energy to run the 50 miler, now I just have to hope my legs hold up.  Needless to say, I was ridiculously tired when it was all said and done!


Riding North on the Mt. Vernon trail just after leaving Alexandria you pass some kind of electrical/utility/cooling plant.
There are murals on the wall and you pass under fencing which looks cool up close. 


A mid-workout snack.  More nasty
Gu, a Sandwich, and Chips (not shown).

After my long bike ride, I had a small snack before my walk, and then another snack after my walk before I headed out on the trails.  This is good prep for Ultras since the aid stations feature more "real food" (ie sandwiches, cookies, crackers) then sports nutrition (like Gu).  You need the calories and something to physically fill you up since after a few hour you start getting really hungry.  Plus, eating too much Gu, Sport Beans, and Gatorade kind of makes you feel sick...




Recovery the Right Way

179.6 lbs and holding steady.  Nevermind the toes.
But it wasn't really over yet.  In keeping with my conservative approach, I wanted to give myself a full cool-down, stretch out, foam roll, and ice bath recovery.

I weighed myself when I got home.  I half expected to have dropped a few pounds like on a hot summer day, but I was actually only a hair below my day-to-day weight of 180 lbs.  This is a good thing - it means you are taking in enough calories and fluids throughout your workout to replenish what you are losing.

Then came about 20 minutes of stretching and another 20 minutes of foam rolling.  And then, an ice bath, which I reserve for only after particularly tough workouts and/or for when your legs are sore all over.

Recipe for success - Reading material, food,
water, coffee, and - oh yea - ICE!  Gotta have
something to keep you occupied.
Brrrr!! I can just feel those inflamed legs
cooling off - the first couple minutes
are the worst part!

There are a zillion things out there that people "swear by" and I'm skeptical of just about all of them.  Ice baths however are the real deal.  Its essentially like covering every inch and crevasse of your lower body with ice packs.  When your legs are sore after a hard workout they are also inflamed all over and just like when you ice an injured spot the freezing cold water reduces the inflammation.  They aren't for the faint of heart though and the first few minutes are freezing.  After that you kind of get used to it - just be sure to have some snacks and reading material to pass the next 18 minutes with.  I have a method to make it not quite as bad: put cold water in the tub, get in (while this is cold it isn't freezing yet), then dump the ice in to lower the water temperature more gradually.  It will reduce the likelihood of injury and you won't feel as much of that stiff/sore feeling the rest of the day.

Rethinking my Strategy

Lately I have been rethinking my long term strategy and realizing what I really want to focus on.  There is a quote that I've always liked, but lately I have been relating it to running, training and racing:
“Don't be afraid to give up the good to go for the great.” (John D. Rockefeller)

I used to think this just meant that you should always give it your all (whatever "it" is that you love) and never look back.  I still think this applies, but I see a new meaning too.  That you need to determine, more specifically, what you love and what brings you happiness and focus on that - even at the cost of things that only make you kinda happy.

How does this translate to running? If you want to be a fast marathoner, focus on the marathon at the cost of shorter events and true speed.  Want to be a 5k artist? Hammer out 5k specific workouts and training plans and do not (I repeat, do not) plan on doing a marathon that season.  Oh, and what do I want right now? I think I want to be an ultra-runner.  And I want to be good at it.  This means a focused approach to ultra-marathon training at the expense of shorter distances.  There might come a time when I want to spend a whole season on 5k specific training but that hasn't come yet.  Its near impossible to train for your best 5k and 10k times while also putting in quality training for Marathons and Ultra-Marathons.

Racing too many 5ks and doing speed work while trying to keep up long (sometimes back-to-back) weekend runs is also a a recipe for injury.  This spring has taught me that and I feel fortunate to have only been out a couple of weeks because of it.

I also want to run for life, not just for another year or two, so this could even mean taking some time off running to ensure a healthy return later.  I would rather take a month or two at a very easy effort (something like an average of 20 miles per week), then run myself into an injury that needs complete rest from all physical activity for months, and could even put a damper on things for years to come.  This would definitely be "giving up the good to go for the great" as I see it.

Thursday, May 16, 2013

What I've been up to lately, Spring Woes, and Beer consumption via 1 Liter Mugs


Front page banner for the Crystal City April 5k Race series.  Look who's making eye contact! (me)
Kind of cool thing.  Was checking out the Crystal City 5k Fridays website and found a picture of none other than yours truly   I'm the only person really looking into the camera!  This one is actually from a year ago but I suppose they need to have something to show and races recycle old footage all the time as it is.

Some 0.0 Miles and BEER!

This was a great find on a walk.  I had heard of the "0.0"
sticker online but hand't seen it until now. MMM BEER!
The picture to our left kind of sums up my last couple of weeks.  After my fun win at the Fly Like an Eagle 5k, and then a 4 hour ultra training run on the Potomac Heritage Trail (most fun I've had in ages by the way) I knew I needed rest if I wanted to avoid serious injury.  This wasn't acute, I could feel something building but I just kind of dealt with it so I could run my 5k and then get one last super long trail run in.

The cause?  Frustrating but almost certainly self-imposed.  Should have taken a little more time off after Boston, should have run fewer miles in the weeks following, should not have run four 5ks within the span of a couple of weeks.  Shoulda, woulda, didnta.  It wasn't the end of the world.  I rested and cross-trained like heck for a week until I felt about 90% solid, did an 8ish mile trail run at Difficult Run (near Great Falls) on a Sunday.  Still didn't feel perfect but getting better.

Then, foolishly, I test ran some Newtons at my Tuesday Fun Run group.  They felt great!  While I was running in them at least - then came the next day, worse pain than I had the previous week.  Something was up in my inner lower leg, as well as the top of my left butt cheek.  Some Google-ing (and convincing myself that I'm a sports physiologist capable of accurate self-diagnoses) helped convince me it was a mild case of Posterior Shin Splints and a sore Piriformis, respectively.  Nothing serious, not painful, and nothing that inhibited normal movement (ie walking or bike riding), but this is not something you want to just ignore and run through, crossing your fingers it will go away.  So I had another week of R.I.C.E, meaning a rest from running, though this time with not as much cross-training as I would have liked.  At a certain point of withdrawal from running you just get so sick of riding your bike or driving to the gym just to see people happily running outside that its easier to just stay home and sulk.  Fortunately I had some other stuff going on to keep me busy.

This downtime did at least give me a chance to enjoy the great weather in more standard, unrunning related ways.  I took my dog for plenty of walks and even let her meander around the trails at times.  It also gave me a chance to catch up on some sleep, work, and all important video games - what male lifestyle would be complete without them right?

Some wondering around taking in the spring smells,  and
 galloping back and forth on the trails.

Happy Beerday!

It was also my birthday last weekend on May 12th.  That's right, every few years my birthday falls on Mother's Day.  Could there be a better Mother's Day gift?  There's probably some kind of immature Oedipus complex slash mama's boy pun in there somewhere - I'll let your imagination do the talking.

While I am typically someone who likes to coast quietly through my Birthday, this year I decided to roll up my sleeves and plan an outing at a private room in a local [dive] bar.  I love beer, especially when served in 1 Liter mugs; I also love all things Bavaria and Germany, so the theme was clear: Oktoberfest.  Things turned out great and it gave me a chance to drag out some friends I hadn't seen in ages.  Sunday I was definitely too hungover to do any real exercising - I mean, I planned it as a rest day ahead of time!

Saying "Prost" to my lady; attempting to drink out of
a balloon; and posing with a group of good friends.
I went for a 5 mile tune up run last night.  Things started out feeling a little achy but gradually improved leaving me cautiously optimistic.  It was also my first day running in hotter (and humider) weather so I blamed feeling out of shape on that.  Running on a warm spring evening did make me realize how crummy winter running can be, its just so nice running while its light out, with lots of other people out on the trails, never having to worry about getting cold.  I might not sound so positive in a month when its 90 and humid though.

As you might also recall, I had planned on doing an ultra, the Capon Valley 50k, in West Virginia the morning of my birthday.  I ended up having to sit this one out due to the aforementioned aches and pains.  I could  have done it, but this would hurt and not help my efforts to stay healthy and train for ultras this summer.  If it was a goal race (like Chicago) I would have gone out there and gave it my all, dealing with the consequences later.  However, I'm mature enough now to know I'll be miserable if I have to rest for a month just from doing a non-goal race.  There is always next year - At least I didn't have to wake up at 4am!

Northface is in 2.5 weeks, that means in about 20 days I'll attempt to cover 50 miles on foot.  I have mixed feelings on this, I know it won't go great since I haven't gotten to train the way I like this spring; I also know that I will finish the task, more than likely in a time leaving some middle and back-of-the-packers envious.  The biggest piece of advice that I have heard about ultras and which I have taken close to heart is the following: "Start slow and then Slow Down".  This will be my strategy from the start, along with drinking and eating regularly.

Similar to when I ran Boston, I really am not nervous about Northface.  I think nervousness before a race typically comes from setting an intimidating goal for yourself.  Low expectations = low apprehension level.

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Running (and walking) the Potomac Heritage Trail

Trail Running in your backyard

This past weekend was my last chance to get a long, slow, trail run in preparation for my upcoming 50k.  With 2 weeks to go I could not have waited any longer, and since Boston was 2 weeks ago I could not have done this any sooner.  Logistics were tough, since I ran a 5k Friday evening and another one Sunday morning.  I rested all day Saturday since I wanted to be fresh for Sunday's race.

I set out around 3:00pm Sunday from my doorstep to dark skies and some light rain.  This can be a recipe for disaster, but the rain held up and I had enough energy (thanks to a nap and about a half a dozen pancakes consumed after the morning 5k).  I had also been feeling a slight tinge in my lower left leg.  As much as I hate to admit it, this could be the start of a shin splint, but I needed to get this training run in.  Afterward I would be free to rest and crosstrain as much as needed to heal things up before the 50k.

My goals were clear: to spend 4 or more hours on my feet, regardless of mileage (though around 20 miles would be nice), and spend a significant portion of that walking.  Also to use my Ultra Running Vest to make sure its comfortable and fine tune what I should be carrying.

I ran the incredible Potomac Heritage Trail, accessible from where I live in North Arlington via a few connector trails, though the actual trail head starts from Roosevelt Island.  Things started off as planned, which included some tip-toeing over both flat rocky terrain, and scrambling up a series of rocks closer to the intersection with Chain Bridge road.

Part of the infamous rock scramble on the
Potomac Heritage Trail near where it
crosses Chain Bridge.  Hold on to the rail
Easy does it!
This picture doesn't appear to be anything
special, but I see it as beauty in simplicity.
Just you, nature, and an open trail - no
people, cars, or buildings.  This is often
what trail runners strive for.






















After making my way across Chain Bridge Road I continue on the trail, make a stream crossing to the other side of Pimmit Run and continue up a steep path to Fort Marcy Park.  After some more steep up and down hill portions there is a section along side the George Washington Parkway.  It feels odd running near cars traveling over 50 MPH especially after having just moved so slowly through the wilderness.  After a few more climbs and ascents the trail flattens out as it nears the Potomac River.  Here I travel along with long a few stream crossing until I reach the next major landmark, the I-495 American Legion Bridge.

Behold!  The I-495 American Legion Bridge passing over the Potomac River.  Though it ind of breaks up the feeling
of solitude and natural beauty, it provides for an  interesting contrast.
After going under 495 I popped out in an affluent neighborhood and took a left on Live Oak Drive.  After about a mile on this road you come to an entry point for Scotts Run Nature preserve.  Scotts Run has multiple routes of trails to build anywhere from a 2 to 6 mile loop out of.  After a couple wrong turns I did a small loop that returned me to Live Oak Drive.  Now it was just a matter of retracing my steps back to the Potomac Heritage Trail to get me home.  I opted not to fill up my water on the way out, but this way veered right onto a side trail about 2 miles after the 495 bridge underpass.

A huge advantage of taking this route is that I can make a stop at Turkey Run Park, conveniently connected to the trail as indicated by signs along the way.  This gives you access to restrooms and (more importantly) a source of potable water.  There are several options in Turkey Run but I like to wait until the last one near the park headquarters.  On a hot day its smart to fill up both on the way out and on the way back, but this day was just cool enough that I only filled up on the way back.  I carry Nuun tablets and toss a couple in my hydration bladder each time I fill up.  Water is absolutely essential to trail running, not only due to the obvious thirst factor but you would not be able to eat and keep down food products without it.

Natural beauty can be observed in smaller doses as well.
About 3 hours into my journey I was starting to get tired, very thirsty and fatigued.  This is why you do mega-training runs like this, to know what to expect in your trail race and train yourself to handle it better.  You really can't duplicate these conditions on roads hence why I felt it was even more important to get out on the trails.  Once I was getting close I opted for some hilly paved roads to save a little time rather than the aforementioned rock scrambling on the trail.  While it wasn't dark out yet the low light made it tough to see the trail and I was more comfortable on the road.  Made it home around 8:00pm, hungry, thirsty, tired, and with a bit of soreness all over.  Overall a great outing!

20 miles in 4 hours, with a good portion of that walking.